Tuesday August 4th, 2020, the Town Hall is physically closed. We are operating virtually-please call 804-435-1552 and select the EXT you need and your call will be answered. Thank you and stay safe! To report power loss go to www.dominionenergy.com or by call 1-866-DOM-HELP (1-866-366-4357). Town Hall has reopened from 9:00am – 5:00pm. All citizens will be required to wear a face covering inside government buildings as mandated by the Governor’s Executive Order 63 and social distancing must be maintained. We will have masks available.

Government Services

We believe our citizens are customers and deserve the highest quality of services we can offer. If you have questions or need a particular service please call or stop by the Town Hall. The hours of operation are Monday – Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM.

Administrative Staff

The Administrative Department is responsible for creating and preserving the public records, and answering inquiries received from those interested in knowing about the services, history, and demographics of the town. The department bills and collects Town taxes, utility charges, business license fees and is responsible for the proper accounting of town receipts and disbursements and preparing the town’s annual budget. Zoning, licensing, and issuance of permits are also handled by the Zoning Administrator. Special Events and group use of the Town Park are handled by the Special Events Coordinator.

Susan Cockrell
Town Manager & Public Utilities Director
susancockrell@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1552 ext. 1

Amber Polk
Assistant to the Town Clerk
apolk@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1552 ext. 8

Antwon Butler
Public Works
abulter@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1755

Ashley Jones
Community Development Coordinator
ajones@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1552 ext. 4

Beth Arthur
Assistant to the Treasurer
barthur@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1552 ext. 7

Cindy Balderson
Town Clerk
cbalderson@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1552 ext. 6

Judy G. Stevens
Town Treasurer
jstevens@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1552 ext. 5

Marshall Sebra
Planning & Zoning Director
msebra@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1552 ext. 2

Cliff Dawson
Police Chief
cdawson@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1552 ext. 9

Nancyellen Keane
Town Attorney
nancyellen@keanelawpllc.com
804-350-2640

P.J. Jones
Public Works Supervisor & Chief Operator, Waste Water Treatment Plant
pjjones@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1755

Richard Lynn
Operator, Waste Water Treatment Plant
rlynn@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-6411

Tony Ercolino
Public Works
tercelino@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1755

Wayne Kent
Public Utilities
wkent@kilmarnockva.com
804-435-1755

Freedom of Information Act Requests

The Rights of Requesters and the Responsibilities of the Town of Kilmarnock, Virginia under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act

The Virginia Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), located § 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, guarantees citizens of the Commonwealth and representatives of the media access to public records held by public bodies, public officials, and public employees.

A public record is any writing or recording — regardless of whether it is a paper record, an electronic file, an audio or video recording, or any other format — that is prepared or owned by, or in the possession of a public body or its officers, employees or agents in the transaction of public business. All public records are presumed to be open, and may only be withheld if a specific, statutory exemption applies.

The policy of FOIA states that the purpose of FOIA is to promote an increased awareness by all persons of governmental activities. In furthering this policy, FOIA requires that the law be interpreted liberally, in favor of access, and that any exemption allowing public records to be withheld must be interpreted narrowly.