Governor issues temporary “Stay at Home” Executive Order until June 10, 2020.
Beginning 03/29/2020, all Town of Kilmarnock parks are closed until further notice. Town Hall is temporarily closed to face-to-face transactions and interactions. Essential personnel are working at Town Hall Monday – Friday from 9:00am – 5:00pm. Please call (804) 435-1552 for assistance
For information regarding the town’s recent changes to utility rates and policies CLICK HERE.
For COVID-19 business resources please CLICK HERE

HomeTown Council

Kilmarnock’s Town Council

Meet Kilmarnock’s Town Council

Mae P. Umphlett

Term Ends June 2022

  • Ex-Officio member of all Committees

Rebecca T. Nunn
Vice Mayor

Term Ends June 2020

  • Admin & Finance, Chair
  • Water Wastewater

Alice Cooper

Term Ends June 30, 2020

  • Streets, Sidewalks, Playgrounds, Chair
  • Economic Development
  • Water and Wastewater

Emerson Gravatt

Term Ends June 2022

  • Admin & Finance
  • Police, Public Safety, & Emergency Preparedness, Chair
  • Economic Development

Dr. Curtis H. Smith

Term Ends June 2022

  • Admin & Finance
  • Streets \ Sidewalks\ Playgrounds
  • Economic Development, Chair
  • Water Wastewater

Les Spivey

Term Ends June 2022

  • Planning Commission Liaison
  • Water Wastewater

Michael T. Sutherland

Term Ends June 2020

  • Admin & Finance
  • Water Wastewater, Chair
  • Streets\Sidewalks\Playgrounds

 Town Council Elections are Tuesday, May 5, 2020

UPDATE: Town Elections Now Will Be Done Via Absentee Ballots

Lancaster County Election Notice (PDF)

Letter to Voters

To apply for an absentee ballot online, please CLICK HERE.

Seven candidates are vying for three positions.

Kylie Abbott, Michael Bedell, Alice Cooper (appointed incumbent),  Chris Harris, Donald Lee,  Rebecca Nunn (incumbent), Michael Sutherland (incumbent)

Voting Precinct for Town Elections

Grace Episcopal Church/Grace Hall
303 South Main Street
Kilmarnock, VA

Last date to make changes to a voter registration is April 28, 2020.

Polling hours throughout the Commonwealth are from 6:00 a.m. until  7:00 p.m.  As long as a voter is in line by 7:00 p.m., the voter will be able to vote.  Call 804-462-5277 with any questions. For more information, contact the Lancaster County Board of Elections.


Both Town Council and Planning Commission meetings are filmed and then posted for viewing approximately 1-2 business days following the meeting. Visit Kilmarnock, VA to view the official meeting videos. This is a FREE service.

Public Hearings

There are no current public hearings scheduled

Town Council: How it Works

With this form of government, the town council as a whole has control over administration or operation of the town. The town council, composed of the mayor and six council members, is elected at large by the popular vote of the qualified voters of Kilmarnock. There are no precincts for the purpose of Town elections.

The Kilmarnock mayoral role is directly elected and holds the position for a 4 year term. The mayor presides over the monthly Town Council meetings and votes in the case of a tie. Each Town Council member is elected to a 4 year term and within the Town Council, the terms are staggered, three standing for election every two years.

The council possesses both legislative and executive authority. The council may appoint officials (Planning Commissioners, as an example) and approves mayoral nominations. The Town Council creates and appoints members to subcommittees on various topics to conduct the Towns business and make recommendations to the larger Council body. The Council exercises primary control over the municipal budget.

The town council (including the mayor) appoints a town manager who supervises and coordinates the various departments throughout town hall and acts as the director of public utilities. The town manager is vested with the administrative and executive powers of the town and holds office at the pleasure of the council. The manager prepares the budget for the councils consideration and makes reports and recommendations to the town council.

Kilmarnock has five subcommittees that meet monthly: Administration and Finance; Economic Development; Police, Public Safety &Emergency Preparedness; Streets, Sidewalks and Playgrounds; Water and Sewer. Each subcommittee has a council member as the chair, one or more additional members and is supported by the town staff. All meetings are open to the public with a schedule posted on this website.

The Town Council meets at 7:00 p.m. on the third Monday of every month at the Town Hall at 1 N. Main Street. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend. Click here for directions. Please refer to the meeting schedule link below for the official list of meeting dates. Click here for the current months Town Council meeting agenda.

Requests Under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

Any requests filed under FOIA should be addressed to the Town’s Designated FOIA Officer below.


Susan Cockrell Town Manager
804-435-1552 ext.25